About one in five accidents in Texas are caused because the driver is distracted. This has led to laws against using cell phones while driving.
However, just because there’s a law in place doesn’t mean that people will abide by it. Unfortunately, people violate the laws of the road daily. Check out the five driving laws in Texas that are most commonly broken by drivers.
Table of Contents
1. Parking Violations
The most common parking violation is parking in a handicap spot when you’re not supposed to. If you get caught illegally parking in a handicap spot, you’re facing a $500 to $750 fine. Get caught multiple times, and the penalties increase along with the added requirement of community service.
You also need to pay attention to the parking rules in cities. The laws can change, and this can result in you receiving a parking violation.
We’ve all done it, but that doesn’t make it right. Speeding is one of the most commonly broken laws. The fine and punishment will vary based on how fast you were going and the surrounding conditions.
Fines range from $170 to $500. These can increase with multiple occurrences. Then you could also get points assessed to your license. Gain too many points, and your license gets suspended or revoked.
Under Texas law, the term DWI is used for persons over the age of 21 driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more. It also applies to a person under the age of 21 with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
The term DWI is often used interchangeably with DUI. While they mean similar things, they do not represent the same thing under Texas law. The difference between a DUI and a DWI is that DUI only applies to those under the age of 21.
4. Not Wearing a Seatbelt
People in Texas struggle with wearing their seatbelts. In 2018, over 2,623 people were seriously injured or killed because they failed to wear their seatbelt. By putting yours on you can increase your chance of survival by 45-60%
Fail to wear your seatbelt, and you could face a $200 fine. These fines get a lot worse if you get caught with your children not wearing their seatbelts.
5. Running a Red Light
You’re approaching an intersection, and you see the light turn yellow. You step on the gas and hold your breath. If you’re lucky, you’ll make it through the intersection and not get held up at the red light.
This is dangerous driving. At worst, you cause an accident. AT best, you get caught by a red light camera. If one of these cameras catch you, it’ll be a $75 fine. If a police officer catches you, the penalty could go up to $200.
Know the Driving Laws in Texas
By knowing these common violations of the driving laws in Texas, you can be more vigilant about your own driving habits. By following the rules of the road, you will save yourself hundreds of dollars in fees and make the road a safer place for everyone.
Browse our lifestyle section for more interesting and informative articles like this one.