Everything You Need to Know about DWI in Houston Texas

Everything You Need to Know about DWI in Houston Texas

Did you know that every 20 minutes in Texas, someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol? DWI (driving while intoxicated) is a major crime in the entire world.

Every state has its own rules and regulations about DWI that their citizens should abide by.  It is important to find out what your state laws are if you have no idea so that the law does not catch you ignorant. Hiring a Houston Texas DWI attorney will help you learn the rules as well as your rights as a Texas resident.

But how much is too much?

Impairment begins with the first drink! Everything in your body affects how your body handles alcohol – your gender, your body weight, the number of drinks you have had as well as the amount of food you have eaten.

Two to three beers within one hour can make some people completely intoxicated.  Women, young people, and smaller people generally become intoxicated with less alcohol. It is important to take responsibility for your own actions. Don’t drink and drive no matter what other people have told you.

The law on DWI in Texas

In Texas, if you are arrested for DWI with a 0.8 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration), you will be charged. Even if you are impaired from drug use and are caught driving, you will be charged irrespective of what the BAC count reads. Drunk driving and driving under the influence of drugs is highly prohibited in this state.

If you are a passenger in a car with an open alcohol container, if caught, you will be arrested and fined even up to $500.

DWI with a child passenger

If you have passengers in your vehicle that are younger than 15 years and are caught driving while intoxicated, the charges will be worse because you will be charged with child endangerment. DWI with a child passenger is punishable by the law by:

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for about 6 months
  • Up to two years in state jail

What happens when the police stop you?

When stopped by the police, whether drunk or sober, be willing to cooperate. Be ready to show your driver’s license, proof of your insurance and vehicle registration. If you refuse to take the blood or breath test, your license will be automatically suspended for about 3 to 6 months.

DWI punishments

These punishments vary depending on the number of convictions.

First offense

  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Three days to 6 months in jail
  • Loss of your driver’s license up to a year
  • Yearly fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years in order to retain your driver’s license

Second offense

  • Fines of up to $4,000
  • One month to one year in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license up to 2 years
  • Yearly fee of $1,500 to $2,000 for three years to retain your license

Third offense

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • Two years to 10 years in prison
  • Loss of your driver’s license up to two years
  • Yearly fee of $1,500 to $2,000 for three years to retain your license

After two or more DWI convictions within five years, you will be instructed to install a special ignition switch that prevents the vehicle from being operated if you have been drinking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.